W3vina.COM Free Wordpress Themes Joomla Templates Best Wordpress Themes Premium Wordpress Themes Top Best Wordpress Themes 2012

Categorized | Acer

Acer Aspire V7-482PG-6629 14-Inch Touchscreen Ultrabook (Cool Steel)

Acer Aspire V7-482PG-6629 14-Inch Touchscreen Ultrabook (Cool Steel)

Acer Aspire V7-482PG-6629 14-Inch Touchscreen Ultrabook (Cool Steel)

  • Intel Core i5-4200U 1.6 GHz (3 MB Cache)
  • 8 GB DDR3L SDRAM
  • 500 GB 5400 rpm Hard Drive
  • 14-Inch Touchscreen, NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M
  • Windows 8, 8-hour battery life

Acer V7-482PG-6629 Touch Screen Ultrabook comes with these high level specs: 4th Generation Intel Core i5-4200U Processor, Windows 8, 14″ Full HD Widescreen CineCrystal LED-backlit Display with IPS (In-Plane Switching) technology, Multi-touch screen, supporting 10 finger touch, Mobile Intel HM77 Express chipset, NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M with 4GB of dedicated DDR3 VRAM, 8GB DDR3L Memory, 500GB SATA Hard Drive (5400RPM), SSD drive for quick boot, Secure Digital (SD) card reader, Intel Centrino Advanced-N 7260, 802.11a/b/g/n Wireless LAN with Acer Nplify featuring MIMO technology, Intel Wireless Display, Bluetooth 4.0, Built-In HD Webcam, 1 – USB 3.0 Port (with power-off charging), 2 – USB 2.0 Ports, 1 – HDMI Port, 1 – Acer Converter Port, 4-cel

List Price: $ 999.99

Price: $ 949.99

Acer Aspire V3-772G-9656 17.3-Inch Laptop (Sophisticated Black)

Acer Aspire V3-772G-9656 17.3-Inch Laptop (Sophisticated Black)

  • Intel Core i7-4702MQ 2.2 GHz (6 MB Cache)
  • 8 GB DDR3L SDRAM
  • 750 GB 5400 rpm Hard Drive, 120 GB Solid-State Drive
  • 17.3-Inch Screen, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760M
  • Windows 8, 2.5-hour battery life

Acer V3-772G-9656 Notebook comes with these high level specs: 4th Generation Intel Core i7-4702MQ Processor 2.2GHz with Turbo Boost Technology up to 3.2GHz, Windows 8, 17.3″ Full HD Widescreen CineCrystal LED-backlit Display (1920 x 1080), Mobile Intel HM86 Express Chipset, 8GB DDR3L Memory, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760M with 2 GB of dedicated GDDR5 VRAM, 750B 5400RPM SATA Hard Drive & 120GB SSD Drive, 8X DVD-SuperMulti Double-Layer Drive, HD Webcam (1280 x 720), Secure Digital (SD) card reader, 802.11a/b/g/n (MIMO Dual-Band 2.4Ghz & 5GHz) Wireless LAN, Bluetooth 4.0+HS, 2 – USB 2.0 Ports, 2 – USB 3.0 Ports (1 with power-off charging), 1 – HDMI Port, 1 – Gigabit Ethernet Port, Acer Zoom Perfect Touchpad, 6-cell Li-ion Battery (4400 mAh), up to 2.

List Price: $ 1,299.99

Price: $ 1,179.99

6 Responses to “Acer Aspire V7-482PG-6629 14-Inch Touchscreen Ultrabook (Cool Steel)”

  1. Ben Calo says:
    11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
    3.0 out of 5 stars
    Good laptop, not great., November 5, 2013
    By 
    Ben Calo (Chico, CA) –
    (REAL NAME)
      

    Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    This review is from: Acer Aspire V7-482PG-6629 14-Inch Touchscreen Ultrabook (Cool Steel) (Personal Computers)

    So far this laptop does it’s job well. The keyboard is nice, but can be overly sensitive; causing double keystrokes, etc. The power button is on the side, and can be hit during normal use; wish it was on the keyboard area. The battery life is nowhere near 8 hours with normal use, and typically gets around 4-5 hours under normal use (low brightness, sound off, etc.). That being said, the display is fantastic, the sound quality is good, it boots on in seconds, it never gets too hot, the build quality is solid, and it doesn’t feel too heavy. Although the speakers are good, they are also downward facing, so sound can get muffled. Finally, this laptop is great for GIS, CAD, and other graphic intensive applications; I wouldn’t choose it for gaming though.

    Edit:

    The brightness function keys are backwards. e.g. the increase brightness pictogram corresponds to decrease brightness. It’s a minor annoyance, but when I brought it to the attention of Acer, they were fairly indifferent about it, so I decreased my overall rating.

    A bit more on gaming. So far the laptop can handle civilization 5, L4D2, etc. just fine. I don’t have any newer games to test it with as of yet. The V7 is supposed to intelligently select what GPU to use, which is a plus, but can be an annoyance too; thankfully, you can manually select the GPU you want to use after enabling a context menu setting. On battery, you’re looking at 2 hours of game time with the dedicated GPU, and 4ish with the integrated GPU. The laptop doesn’t get too hot, but might overheat in the middle of summer. After gaming the keyboard will get warm, but shouldn’t hinder you. After you’re done gaming for a few hours, the laptop will cool down to idle temps in about 1-2 min.

    This page should give you an idea of what the dedicated GPU can do:
    http://www.notebookcheck.net/NVIDIA-GeForce-GT-750M.90245.0.html

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  2. IzDlang says:
    12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    great for the price, November 26, 2013
    By 
    IzDlang

    Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    This review is from: Acer Aspire V7-482PG-6629 14-Inch Touchscreen Ultrabook (Cool Steel) (Personal Computers)

    It’s a good laptop for the price so far, it is hard to find an IPS screen @ 1080p under 1000 on any laptop. Decent processor, does what I need it to do, dedicated card for some mild gaming.

    Just came from a 2k Dell machine with a QHD screen that had enough issues for me to return, and I am pleasantly surprised with this one. Hasn’t had the touchpad patterns that I noticed on the Dell (different hardware).

    Although I read some bad things on Acer build quality (it does feel a bit more plasticy than the Dell and Apple offerings at 2-3x the price) I am also pleasantly surprised there as well, it feels decent.

    Pros – Nice screen, not QHD but then you get to skip some of the HiDPI problems in software too if you run native.
    -good bit of ram and upgradeable to 12gb
    -upgradeable hard drive
    -Personally I prefer the 14″ screen size over others

    Cons-
    – No AC wireless in it
    – Wish the Touchpad was a bit more centered
    – Wish the touchpad gestures were more configurable to what they do.. haven’t looked into it too much though
    – hard drive is a slow 5400rpm, probably replace with a hybrid.
    – heavy for the size 4.4lbs is the same weight as some 15s, needs to be more ~< 4lbs but I would take the weight if it had a bit bigger battery in it.

    I’ll check back in after having had it for a while, these were just some of the initial findings I had. I can also post some HWinfo when doing Prime95 and FurMark if anyone wants to look at the max load temps. Had read it was high, but didn’t really notice it.

    Just updated the new bios last night, so will re run those and see if anything drastically changed.

    Update 12/2/2013 : Used the laptop over the holidays to do some photo editing using Lightroom and Photoshop, worked awesomely. The speakers are super loud as well. I don’t really judge laptops on sound quality (not rich enough), but do judge them on being able to hear in a loud environment, and these easily are the loudest laptop speakers I have ever heard.

    Still happy with the purchase so far, which is rare for me.

    Also I happened to have a 30″ QHD Dell monitor with display port available, and tried that “special” Acer port on the back. Yeah it is display port. Was able to drive the full 2880×1600 of the monitor. Not sure why Acer doesn’t claim it’s a displayport. Upping my stars to 5 now, knowing that it has a display port. I am guessing they just don’t have it fully certified, reason they don’t want to claim it. Although they do ship you a Displayport to VGA cable.

    Update 12/21/2013: Having had it a little while now, I seem to have a problem installing Vmware Player on it, installs but never works. Makes me wonder if it is the cache causing the problem, had a problem on my desktop when I had an SSD and had moved my Users directory to a regular HDD. When I changed that all to be to the SSD, it started working again. So makes me wonder if something with the way caching works causes this problem or just a fluke.

    Also if you play a game for a while, the keyboard does get uncomfortably warm, but not hot enough to burn you. I didn’t have it on my lap at the time, just on a desk. Didn’t notice any throttling though, so that is good.

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  3. Jordan C says:
    5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
    4.0 out of 5 stars
    Very very solid – great performance and feature set for cost – and it has a 24GB SSD that description was vague about, December 6, 2013
    By 

    Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    This review is from: Acer Aspire V7-482PG-6629 14-Inch Touchscreen Ultrabook (Cool Steel) (Personal Computers)

    My last laptop was a white macbook 2008, so that’s what I’m coming from. All in all, I really like the decision I made on this laptop. It’s as thin, but not as light, as an ultrabook. Weight seems indistinguishable from the macbook I had.

    I chose this laptop because I needed one, and I also wanted it to be capable of playing games, but I really wanted the profile of an ultrabook. This had the best feature set I could find. Really hard to find a discrete graphics card, backlit keyboard and an IPS screen in one ultrabook. I paid $849, and based on the research I did – I feel it was the best I could do. The closest other option I had found was an HP envy 14″ with upgrades, and that was $1099 with a better processor, but worse graphics card and screen.

    Games run smoothly on it, but it does get very hot on the piece of metal right underneath the screen. Would cook your giblets if you were playing games on your lap. So keep that in mind.

    Screen is gorgeous. very close (to what I can visually discern) to a retina display, even though the retina display has a much better pixel density and resolution. There is def. a diminishing return on resolution and for a 14″ screen, 1920×1080 is incredibly dense from 24-30 inches away. When reading small text I can’t see individual pixels and they arent pixelated – from that point on a better resolution is superfluous in my opinion and can actually hurt performance since more pixels means more processor work. You will see bad light bleed when starting the system up, but that’s the only I ever saw it. Other times a black screen was up, i didnt see it all.

    Build quality is very good, but doesnt compare to an ENVY, any Samsung, or an Apple. In other words, you wont be blown away or disappointed. Not the best touch pad or keyboard, but like the build quality: you wont be blown away or disappointed. solid 7/10 on all that stuff. Power chord is generic mid-90′s looking chord. That’s the biggest disappointment really, because I got used to a magnetic trip-proof apple chord :(

    One thing the discription was really vague about which adds a ton of value to this: This has a 24GB SSD installed too! It’s for caching only, and you wont see it under “my computer”, but you will see it in the device manager. I checked because boot times seemed really, really fast and I knew that couldnt be if it was just a measily 5400 RPM (which I was going to replace until I knew it essentially had a hybrid-esque setup).

    Hope that helps! I’ll answer any questions you might have, just let me know. I’m fairly nerdy on tech stuff.

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  4. Komotonoto says:
    3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    Best laptop I could find for the price., December 11, 2013
    By 

    Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    This review is from: Acer Aspire V3-772G-9656 17.3-Inch Laptop (Sophisticated Black) (Personal Computers)

    I was able to delete all factory partitions in the mSATA and install windows 7. Then for the graphics driver, you just need to get it from the manufacture website (Nvidia). It boots up in seconds and you can put 2 more hard drives in it! So it’s like you get a desktop replacement! Only small problem is that it is a very big laptop so you may need a bigger bookbag to carry or whatever. The mouse clicking is a bit annoying since it didn’t come with seperate mouse buttons. The battery doesn’t last long as much but if you are going to be gaming, I don’t see why anyone would play on their battery..

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  5. Ali says:
    5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    A Great Laptop with a great price, December 4, 2013
    By 
    Ali

    Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    This review is from: Acer Aspire V3-772G-9656 17.3-Inch Laptop (Sophisticated Black) (Personal Computers)

    Great Laptop for its price, Gtx 760 allows you to play almost all games in high settings. I played Assassins creed 4 on high and it was beautiful with no stuttering at all; once i tried it on ultra settings however it started stuttering a bit but no that bad. The SSD makes the computer extremely fast that windows literally starts up in exactly 4 seconds (i counted). of course windows 8 ruins it a little but its not that bad. here are a quick brief on cons and pros.

    Pros: SSD makes your computer super fast, a very good deal considering the price and components, The Laptop NEVER gets hot ( i played AC4 for 5 straight hours on high setting and the laptop is still cool to the touch.

    Cons: No back-lit Keyboard but i think the keys are made so that you can still see them in the dark, a little heavy but that’s what you would expect from a 17″ gaming laptop, Lots of Bloatware but i don’t really mind since uninstalling them doesn’t take anytime.

    All in all it’s a very good laptop for it’s price (999.99$ but it may get more expensive since its on a sale) if you are on a budget and want a good gaming laptop that can handle the most demanding games

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  6. MovieGoer says:
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    LOVE IT.. so far :D , December 11, 2013
    By 

    Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    This review is from: Acer Aspire V3-772G-9656 17.3-Inch Laptop (Sophisticated Black) (Personal Computers)

    I’ve only had this laptop for a few days now.. so I’ll probably update this review later.. but so far.. LOVE IT! For the price ($1k), I think it was a pretty good deal. The SSD makes this thing screaming fast. Boots up in less than 10 seconds from totally shut off, to the login screen :) The graphics card is pretty ridiculous. Can’t wait to see what this baby can do after I get my Steam library back up to par! :)

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

Trackbacks/Pingbacks


Leave a Reply